Found a travel buddy

On the bus ride home from York tonight, i saw a girl who happens to be a friend of a friend. We never got a chance to talk before.

In the 30 minute trip home i realized that she is a very cool, ambitious, volunteer at a local elementary school, who is studying to be a professor. Most importantly, she is also planing on traveling to Korea to teach English in September.  Did i mention that she loves to cook? She even knows how to cook Persian food!!

I was kinda expecting to just go to a new country and just depend on the kindness of strangers to get by. But in the past few weeks i found out that Micheal, who is one of my closest friends will most likely hook me up with a job at his mom’s academy in Korea. He might even come join me for a few months to ease the transition and show me how to use the trains and take me to the best places. Now i found another friend that will be joining me for the year or two that im gonna be in Seoul. It seems like everything is falling into place for this adventure.

By the way from know on i will be posting pictures of the places i want to see in Korea at the end of each blog. I will also provide a link to provide more information about what you are seeing.

i gotta see this

i gotta see this

~ by teachtotravel on April 28, 2009.

8 Responses to “Found a travel buddy”

  1. Hey Ash!

    I love the Serendipity!

    Just found your blog today and already I am SO excited about YOUR trip! Don’t you just love it when everything seems to fall into perfect place in the Universe? Great timing even if you don’t believe in coincidence. This is a really GOOD omen and bodes well for you. BE BOLD AND MIGHTY FORCES WILL COME TO YOUR AID!

    I want to follow your progress and all the pics and highlights of your trip on your blog now. If you have an emailing list you can add me to it. Good luck with everything, HAVE FUN, learn a lot, be smart and careful and don’t forget to COME BACK ~ Godspeed! Namaste.

    • Thanks for the encouraging words, i appreciate your support. I will keep you all posted on every step.

      cheers
      Ash

  2. Great another blog i have to follow! lol jk… this is a great idea bro.. I look forward to reading about your daily adventures…

    I have a feeling that I know that girl your talking about..

    • Thanks for the support bro. I c ur not just a pretty face, you can put two and two together, hahah. Cheers.

  3. Ashkon, bro I know you’ve been talking about this for a while. But I still can’t believe that its happening so soon. Man September is only 6 months away and from the sounds of it you’ll be gone for 1-3 years!!!!!!
    Thats is crazy. I know you want to do this and I know that you are excited about it. So I’m really happy thats its coming together, but sad that you will be gone for so long.

    Ok, so we have to grab a drink tonight. What time are you off?

  4. I am going to miss ya Ash! Like i told your brother i got a lot of love for ya dude and know you have a very bright future ahead of you.

    Do me one favor keep us updated on this blog. For people like you it is important to keep writing and sharing your experiences. It is not only a valuable to your blog readers (all 3 of us) but also great exercise for yourself in your journey to discover who you really are and why you are here.

    Anytime, and place I am there for you dude!

    P.S. One of my closest friend spend 3 years teaching in Japan and the far east. Not exactly Korea but she has a lot of connections and experience dealing with the culture shock that you will undoubtedly experience in your first few weeks.

    Here is her facebook info

    http://www.facebook.com/people/Dianna-La-Grassa/800260723

    Cheers and Good luck! 🙂

    • thanks for the support, brother. I love you to, that bromance in the making. I know i’ve been a little behind in the post, but i will get on it. As soon as these exams are done on the 22 i hope we can all go out for a few drinks and celebrate some good news about DAILYCHALLENGE. I know you guys will succeed.

  5. DUDE!! check this out! So Cool! I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

 
